The Kookaburra Creek Cafe

AUTHOR: SANDIE DOCKER • GENRE: ROMANCE • PAGES: 374

NOTE- I received a copy of The Kookaburra Creek Cafe from the good people at Penguin Random House Australia in exchange for my honest review. If you wish to see my review policy please click here.

THE KOOKABURRA CREEK CAFÉ by Sandie Docker is published by Penguin Random House Australia, RRP $34.99

I was also lucky enough to ask Sandie a few questions! Click here to see my interview.


Synopsis

Welcome to the Kookaburra Creek Cafe.

THE PAST

For Hattie, the cafe has been her refuge for the last fifty years – her second chance at a happy ending after her dreams of being a star were shattered. But will the ghosts of her past succeed in destroying everything she’s worked so hard to build?

THE PRESENT

For Alice, the cafe is her livelihood. After Hattie took her in as a teenager, Alice has slowly forged a quiet life as the cafe’s manager (and chief cupcake baker). But with so many tragedies behind her, is it too late for Alice’s story to have a happy ending?

THE FUTURE

For Becca, a teenager in trouble, the cafe could be the new start she yearns for. That is, if she can be persuaded to stop running from her secrets. Can Becca find a way to believe in the kindness of strangers, and accept that this small town could be the place where she finally belongs?

One small town. Three lost women. And a lifetime of secrets.

DSC_9847.JPG

My Review

Sometimes with author debuts they can be a bit clunky and the story can be somewhat basic. That is fair enough I think, I mean I have never written a books so no judgement here. The thing with The Kookaburra Creek Cafe is that it is neither basic or clunky. The plot is so very well thought out for each character, or so you would think. I had the opportunity to hear Sandie talk at my local library and she described it as the characters telling her where to take the story. She didn’t sit down and plan it. The story naturally evolved to be the beautiful novel that is The Kookaburra Creek Cafe.

The story is uplifting, heartbreaking, romantic. One event in the novel that centres around Alice (the main protagonist) is particularly emotional to read. It was heartbreaking, but written so beautifully. A true credit to the author.

Being set in a Cafe there is food a plenty in this book! Sandie did one of my favourite things an author can do when they write a book with food in it… She included recipes for the tasty treats in the back! Thanks Sandie, I can’t wait to start baking, yummy.

Fans of Maeve Binchy, Cathy Kelly and Jenny Colgan will love this book. It would hold its own on a shelf with some of these authors best works. A great read all round. Before I go let’s all take a moment to appreciate the beautiful cover.

Side note- it would make a great Mother’s Day present for mums of all ages!

 

Overall Rating: ☕☕☕☕☕  5/5 teacups!

Where to buy a copy:

📗 Book Depository
📗 Booktopia (it’s on sale and they have free delivery atm!) 

Don’t forget to check out my interview with Sandie here

Happy reading x

3 thoughts on “The Kookaburra Creek Cafe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s