The Wren Hunt

AUTHOR: MARY WATSON • CATEGORY: YOUNG ADULT / FANTASY  • PAGES: 399

NOTE- I requested a review copy of The Wren Hunt from the brilliant people at Bloombury Publishing in exchange for my honest review. If you wish to see my review policy you can find it here.


Synopsis

Every year on St Stephen’s Day, Wren Silke is chased through the forest in a warped version of a childhood game. Her pursuers are judges – a group of powerful and frightening boys who know nothing of her true identity. If they knew she was an augur – their sworn enemy – the game would be up.

This year, the tension between judges and augurs is at breaking point. Wren’s survival, and that of her family, depends on her becoming a spy in the midst of these boys she fears most and using her talent, her magic, to steal from them the only thing that can restore her family’s former power for good. But Wren’s talent comes with a price. The more she uses it, the more she loses her grip on reality and soon she’s questioning everything she’s ever known about her family, about augurs and judges, and about the dangerous tattooed stranger who most definitely is not on her side …

Part thriller, part love story, this captivating debut novel about a girl caught in a battle between two ancient magics will appeal to readers of Frances Hardinge and Alice Broadway.

DSC_7815-01.jpeg

My Review

One of the most refreshing aspects of this book is that it is set in modern times. Most other books in this genre are set in a medieval style time with Kings, princesses and palaces so it was a wonderful surprise when I realised that this is set in modern-day. Watson could have easily fallen into this, almost given, period in time but she has stepped out of the box and it is a bold move that has paid dividends. This is a modern society where two competing magical races have a history of hate that is entrenched in the fabric of their being. As a reader seeing this pull of egos play against one another in a modern setting is thoroughly entertaining.

The plot of The Wren Hunt is multi-layered. There are so many sub-plots that it could get confusing, but the author does a brilliant job tying them all in together (I am not going to say what they are because I like me reviews spoiler free!). As this book is a part of a series, the conclusion is substantial enough that you feel like the book held its own while still leaving you wanting more. For me this is the true testament of a good series writer.

I am a big fan of star crossed lovers. I can’t tell you how many times I have watched Baz Luhrmanns Romeo and Juliet. It’s a lot. Wren and Tarc are a brilliant example of star crossed lovers with the pull of their hearts fighting against the push of their heritage.

Overall, this is one not to be missed by any fans of the genre. The plot has a winning combination of action, romance and magic.

Overall Rating: ☕☕☕ 5/5 teacups

Where to buy a copy:

📗 Booktopia
📗 Book Depository

Happy reading x

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s