The Mime Order



Paige Mahoney has escaped the brutal prison camp of Sheol I, but her problems have only just begun: many of the survivors are missing and she is the most wanted person in London…

As Scion turns its all-seeing eye on the dreamwalker, the mime-lords and mime-queens of the city’s gangs are invited to a rare meeting of the Unnatural Assembly. Jaxon Hall and his Seven Seals prepare to take centre stage, but there are bitter fault lines running through the clairvoyant community. Then the Rephaim begin crawling out from the shadows. Paige must keep moving, from Seven Dials to Grub Street to the secret catacombs of Camden, until the fate of the underworld can be decided.

Synopsis- The Mime Order 


My Review

The Mime Order is an excellent sequel to The Bone Season. I must say that I think I actually preferred this book over the first. The plot! It became so much more rich and complex through all of the different gangs in the underworld.

While reading this book I realised how this series is even more-so unique then I first thought. As I stated in last week’s review the plot and theme is refreshing, but the whole structure of the first two books flips the norm on its head. Generally in a series you are introduced to a character, get to know all about their life and where they live and then later something happens to stuff it all up. In The Bone Season we see Paige in the central location of the book for a few pages and she has fleeting dialogue with any of her closest friends. It is not until The Mime Order that we truely see her interact with her peers and actually understand her home. Yes, we know that very basics of her gang but they don’t begin to feel like major players in the series until this book. The same can be said for Scion itself. In turn, this builds a greater sense of Paige’s identity and somehow makes her strength even more pronounced.

This book really does work great as a sequel because it not only does it enhance the central plot, it also has its own great stand alone storyline. In my opinion all great book series have that in common. I look forward to the next instalment!!

Overall Rating: cupcupcup cup 4/5 teacups  

Where to buy a copy

If you want to check it out head to Book Depository and grab one now.

Are you a fellow Aussie and want to shop local? Try Booktopia.

Happy reading x

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s